Mary Theresa Quine

She was a grand old doll, she was; with a whip for a tongue and an Irish temper to fuel the lash… but the heart of gold that beat deep down in her chest was bigger that her frail little body could hold. She loved me like nobody since; shaping the very heart of my soul. She was more than mortal man could handle; as entranced, she weaved her body ’round her Maypole.

Her Maypole dance led to love and a life that gave rise to a son. She taught me compassion, persistence and truth; the value of friendship, the cost of abuse. She was a lady, a queen and a saint; she was the fabled Maypole dancer… nay I say, she was my mother!

The reaper called before she awoke. She waited for the sun’s rays to creep through the window dress to loosen her grasp on what held her back. When no one looked, she breathed in her last; letting go of the present by chucking the past. Like a candle, she flickered a final goodbye, expiring sans whimper!

Her final known thoughts enveloped her family with warmth and love.

Rest now, Mother… I’ll be your gatekeeper!

Your loving son, Michel ;-(xxx

She slipped a copy of the following text into my hand during a particularly dramatic episode of my life. Though it is weathered and old, its wisdom is unquestionable, and helped shape the soul I’ve come to be. It is fitting that she should now be remembered by its words:

DON’T QUIT (Anonymous)

 

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,

when the road that you’re trudging seems all uphill,

when the funds are low, and the debts are high,

and you want to smile, but you have to sigh,

when care is pressing you down a bit –

rest if you must, but don’t you quit!

 

Life is queer with its twists and turns,

as every one of us sometimes learns,

and many a failure turns about,

when he might have won had he stuck it out.

Don’t give up though the pace seems slow –

you may succeed with another blow.

 

Often the goal is nearer than

it seems to a faint and faltering man;

often the struggler has given up

when he might have captured the victor’s cup;

and he learned too late when the night slipped down,

how close he was to the golden crown.

 

Success is failure turned inside out –

the silver tint of the clouds of doubt,

and you never can tell how close you are,

it may be near when it seems afar;

so stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit –

it’s when things seem worst that you musn’t quit!

 

 

Thank you for the precious lesson, Mom! ;-)xxx

 

She was a grand old doll, she was… Mary Theresa Quine (1927 – 2009) Rest now, Mother… I’ll be your gatekeeper!
  • Annie Morneault i feel so sorry for you ! take care
     
  • Valentina Deker My condolences.
    November 12, 2009 at 9:53am · Like
  • Richard Complaisance Maudit que c beau quand tu ecris tes emotions Michel laches pas, je te comprends.
     
  • Thomas Michael Quine I am saddened by this news. Your words are very touching. My best wishes to you and all who are affected by this passing.
     
  • Megan Clark Thank you so much for sharing this with us Mike. My condonlences, I send all my love!
     
  • Nadia Di Iorio Thank you daddy for this…I feel for you…my heart is broken today , but I know she will help us get through this …Sebastien will lead the way… I love you Grandma for ever and always… xox
     
  • Patrick Kairns One word……BEAUTIFUL!!
     
  • Pat Lanciaux-Séguin Mike….there are no words to comfort our souls when we lose someone so precious in our lives….sending you my very deepest sympathies “you are in my thoughts & prayers”…..Pat
     
  • Thérèse Bergeron What a loving message!
     
  • Carole Complaisance · 23 mutual friends

    Mon coeur n’a pas de mots pour t’exprimer à quel point je partage ta peine…
     
  • Vivian Connolly Hi Mike, What a beautiful memorial to your mother that is, as I said on the phone you were a great son to the mother that loved you so much. If your lovely soul comes from your mother’s teaching she did a wonderful job. I love you and sincerely wish I could be there with you.
     
  • Stephan Harvey Quine Beautifully written Mike, and I know every word of it comes from your heart, as it had no trouble touching mine. Love , uncle Harvey
     
  • Gloria Martin Beautifully written……my prayers are with you.
     
  • Rory McRandall The sincerity of your love and grief at her passing shines throught in your well crafted homage to her. I am sorry that I did not know Mary better and I know that I am likely all the poorer because of that.

    My condolences to you and your family, Mich…
     
  • Michel A. Di Iorio Thank you all for caring enough to tell me… and for sharing a thought for Mary (my Mom). 

    Bear hugs to all ;-0
     
  • Ronald Melanson Sorry to hear of her passing. Will call today.
     
  • Marie-Jose Cerf sorry for your mother passing thinking of you
     
  • Nathalie Legros Toutes mes sympathies pour toi et ta famille. xxxx
     
  • Michel A. Di Iorio Merci à vous tous…
     
  • Linda McNeil Our heartfelt wishes go out to you and your family, Mike. We are so sorry for your loss and send our love to you all. Auntie Mary and your family are in our prayers. Love Linda and family
     
  • Michel A. Di Iorio I would like to thank family members and friends who’ve taken a moment to express their heartfelt sympathy on the occasion of my mother’s passing. Please know that she loved you all very dearly.
  • Joey Durocher My condolences Michel,my thoughts and prayers are with you…
     
  • Julie Connolly My sincerest condolences Mike. I remember your Mom well, and most of all her laugh. I was a little kid when I saw her last and she always seemed so jovial to me. A big warm smile and a chuckle. That’s what I remember about her. 

    My love and wishes to …See More
     
  • Michel A. Di Iorio Thank you Julie, both for your kind words and for reminding me that her brother and sisters are feeling the loss of their beloved sister and life-long friend as deeply as I.

    To everyone else, my sincere thanks for your kind thoughts.
     
  • Patti-Beth Leitman Mike, I am soooo sorry to hear about the passing of your Mom!!!! I guess I should check into Facebook more often!? My deepest thoughts are with you and your family at this moment. Losing a Mom, especially a fantastic and loving one is NOT easy!!!!! …See More
     
  • Michel A. Di Iorio Thank you Patti-Beth; your words of comfort and compassion are much appreciated. She was a wonderful mother to me, and I greatly miss her.
     
  • Eve Gagnon-Complaisance Im really sorry….Eve
     
  • Michel A. Di Iorio Merci ma chouette…