Just an Old Boomer © by Michel A. Di Iorio

“I’m just an old boomer with less left to live than forget.
My story’s a sad one to tell, though it ain’t over yet.
Come, sit yourself down to a glass, and you’ll feel no regret,
While I pour out my heart, you can listen and get your lips wet!”

“I’ve been up and down that old ladder we know as ‘success’,
But whenever I’d reach out to grab the last rung, I’d regress.
The last rung was like a last drop from an aging winepress…
So sweet as to quench more than thirst, if addressed with finesse!”

“The love of my life has decided it’s time to move on.
The key to the door of her heart has, from me, been withdrawn.
I’ve since faced eviction from home, now my life’s on the lawn,
The pieces are hard to pick up when your reasons are gone.”

“My *vim is a template for many, for others, a scorn.
For some, it is nothing but vestiges, tattered and torn.
For most, it begs envy – like badges, old legends are worn…
But for me, it lacks substance to make me regret I was born!”

“I’m just an old boomer with less left to live than forget.
My story’s a sad one to tell, though it ain’t over yet.
Come, sit yourself down to another, and feel no regret,
While I pour out my heart, you can listen and get your lips wet!”

“My life is a shambles; I guess you could say it’s a mess.
Like many before me, I’ve lived what I’ve lived to excess.
From what there is left, precious little remains to impress.
Though deep down inside, there are vestigial claims of noblesse!”

“I know that it’s late, and I’m doing my best to condense,
Adventures and mishaps I’ve authored at such great expense.
You’ve emptied my bottle but for this, I take no offense.
You’ve weathered my story with drink, for a just recompense.”

“I bid you goodnight, sir, and thank you for sharing your time.
The story you’ve heard was a sad one, though basted with wine.”
He wipes off the table for someone else waiting to dine…
“Good evening, and welcome! Our menu tonight is sublime!”

“‘I’m just an old boomer with less left to live than forget.
My story’s a sad one to tell, though it ain’t over yet.
Come, sit yourself down to a glass, and you’ll feel no regret,
While I pour out my heart, you can listen and get your lips wet!”

Just an Old Boomer © 2006 by Michel A. Di Iorio

Notes: *Vim – is a noun
• S: (n) energy, vim, vitality (a healthy capacity for vigorous activity) “jogging works off my excess energy”; “he seemed full of vim and vigor”
• S: (n) energy, muscularity, vigor, vigour, vim (an imaginative lively style (especially style of writing) “his writing conveys great energy”; “a remarkable muscularity of style”

