Shadows of my Life © 2006, by Michel A. Di Iorio

˜

A moment in time, as defined by my age
sprang forth from the leaf of a yellowing page.
Nostalgia returned like old dust, loosely swept
under rugs, or a drop from my pail of neglect.

The loves of my life have all withered away
leaving loneness, where once there was passion and play.
The lessons withdrawn came with pain and a scar,
and the loneliness found in a cookieless jar.

I’ve cried for a father and buried a son,
but, just when I thought that my crying was done,
Nostalgia caught up with me, claiming her dues…
from my faucet of tears, flowed a river of blues.

I gazed at the calendar, noting the date
that was fused to the timetable lining my fate.
I’ve lived many lifetimes, rolled into but one
in cadence with shadows, whose daylight had come.

My failures outnumbered successes by far,
their lessons distilled in a cookieless jar.
In time with oblivion, seasoned with fame,
I rose from their ashes to dance in their flame.

I tired of losing to transient dreams;
irrelevant arguments, riddles and schemes.
I’ve since learned to live with myself as a mate;
my ego being all that I’ve left to deflate.

A smile finds its way to my weathered old face
where it sits unaware, in an unshaven place.
It masks all I’ve said from a worldly debate,
and shields me from questions I’d rather abate.

˜

Shadows of my Life © 2006, by Michel A. Di Iorio

